DSA in python

Why, indeed?

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

You may ask why does this need an article, well let me elaborate as to why indeed?
You'll find a lot of people around you telling you why C++ or Java is great when it comes to cracking interviews like here and if you are a college freshman, I'd advise you the same thing. These languages will give you the foundation with which you can understand DSA thoroughly in a way that everything will just make sense; how the computer memory works, how the stack works, how your code is working really and as a person who loves coding (that's what I think of myself because I need to know everything when I'm coding, it's inside out on the table) this is something which matters a lot.

So, you may now ask, why are you doing DSA in python then? Well, for one I've invested a lot of my time in writing python code and I thoroughly understand it now as well. For me, I can switch but understanding the concept behind searching and sorting algorithms seems more important than learning the syntax and working of a language I have never touched in my life.

I have a senior who has done DSA in python, which gave me quite a boost but he, later on, switched to C++ for competitive programming which is a good thing to do, because of code runtime and stuff discussed on the link above as well. The reason why one should learn C++ again. It's quite fast really.

At the end of the day, I've decided to continue my DSA path in python even though I had been having doubts and I still think I'll keep having those, though excellence in a thing is better than dividing the focus on another language I have no idea about and making a mess of it all at the end of the day. Writing this blog is kinda important as well because I don't want to waste my time thinking about whether my choice of language is right or not and keep on doubting myself, when I should be focusing on my problem-solving skills and language is a tool in communicating ideas. So, let me say it once and for all, I'm doing DSA in python and I don't regret it.

"First, solve the problem. Then, write the code.” – John Johnson

If you are like me and use python for DSA, shoot me a dm @hercodeshots or comment below, it'll motivate me a lot and being with people like me will be awesome :)

Till the next blog on my series of learning DSA!